Dhamma Letter No. 11

Vipassana Meditation No. 1

Contemporary Vipassana Meditation

Vipassana meditation has come to be commonly known as ‘mindfulness’ meditation or ‘insight’ meditation. Regardless of the nomenclature, the meditation method taught by the Buddha is still practiced today and remains unchanged after more than 2560 years due to the unbroken chain of recitation of the Buddha's words since they were spoken.

The Mahasatipatthana Sutta (The Great Discourse on the Foundations of Mindfulness) from the early scriptures begins with the following passage:

“Bhikkhus, this is the only way for the purity of all beings, to overcome grief and sorrow, to get rid of suffering and dislike, to achieve on the right path, to realize Nirvana (Nibbana)".” - Digha Nikaya (DN) 22

The Buddha presents the method as beneficial to all and the only way (ekayano maggo) to accomplish nibbana, ultimate happiness and the purpose of the teaching of the Buddha.

DN22 instructs the complete elimination of defilements for the purpose of establishing sati (mindfulness).

The defilements are the following:

  • Lobha (greed/attachment)

  • Dosa (aversion/anger)

  • Moha (delusion/ignorance)

Vipassana meditation outlines practice in four domains: body, feeling, mind, and Dhamma. These are the Four Foundations of Mindfulness that work together to develop inner insight and wisdom leading to a state in which all defilements dispel.

The next Dhamma Letter will further discuss vipassana meditation.

May all be free from any suffering!
May all be free from any dangers!
May all be well and happy!

Buddha Sāsanaṁ Ciraṁ Tiṭṭhatu!
May the Buddha’s teachings last a long time!

​Bhavatu Sabba Sotiṁ ca Maṅgalaṁ ca!!
May everyone be led on the path of peace and blessing!

Sādhu Sādhu Sādhu !

If you have any dhamma-related questions, please feel free to ask at hi@dhammaletter.com. We will include your questions with the answers in future Dhamma Letters.