Dhamma Letter No. 40

Contemplation of the Mind(Cittānupassanā) in Vipassana Meditation 1

From this Dhamma letter we will discuss cittānupassanā (Observing the mind).

In 2020, Ayya Kosalla wrote a thesis about cittānupassanā in Korean. This contemplation of the mind will be continuous for the whole vasa (rains retreat) of 3 months.

Words of appreciation from Ayya Kosalla:

“I would like to express my gratitude to all the disciples of the Buddha who passed on the teachings of the Buddha, so that the teachings of the Buddha can continue into present day after more than 2560 years. This timeless study, along with all modern practitioners, will propel the truth towards future generations while honoring those who have perished”.

There are two types of Buddhist meditation methods: Samatha and Vipassanā.

Samatha aims to attain a state of tranquility that is noticeable moment to moment during daily life or tranquility through sitting concentration.

Vipassanā aims to develop inner insight (within the mind/cittā) and wisdom (paññā) to reach Nirvana (Nibbana)— when anguish disappears.

Vipassanā meditation is an important method to understand the Buddha's enlightenment, and according to the early scriptures, the Buddha declared that Vipassanā meditation is the only way to achieve Nirvana (Ekagato Maggo).

To be continued…

With Metta,

Ayyā Kosallā & Mahāpajāpatī Bhikkhunī Sangha
Edited by Euna Bonovich 

If you have any questions related to dhamma & meditation, please feel free to ask. You can reach Ayya Kosalla directly at Bhikkhuni.Kosalla@gmail.com . 

법에 대한 질문이 있으신 분은 위의 이메일 주소로 질문을 남겨주세요.

이번 주부터 연재되는 위빠사나명상의 마음관찰에 대한 논문을 한글 원본으로 읽고 싶으신 분은 클릭해서 다운로드 받을 수 있습니다. (네이버에 PDF 첨부)

The Korean Dhamma Letter is here 담마레터.

Mahapajapati Monastery www.mahapajapati.org

For monastery updates, please see Mahapajapati’s Facebook.

Donate to Mahapajapati

Buddha Sāsanaṁ Ciraṁ Tiṭṭhatu! 
May the Buddha’s teachings last a long time!

​Bhavatu Sabba Sotiṁ ca Maṅgalaṁ ca!!  
May everyone be led on the path of peace and blessing!!

Sādhu Sādhu Sādhu !